Money Advice Liaison Group Logo


MALG Officers

The Money Advice Liaison Group’s core team of Officers is made up of the Chair, Executive Officer, Financial Director and Membership Co-ordinator. They are contracted by the Board to oversee the day-to-day running of the organisation and implementation of its strategic direction.

Liz Barclay


Bob Winnington

Executive Officer

Stuart Haywood

Financial Director

MALG Board

Working on recommendations from the Executive Officer and Executive Council, MALG’s elected Chair and Board of Directors approves the strategic direction of the organisation, oversees the operation of the group and the work of committees including any special projects, and monitors the finances of the Group. It is also responsible for the creation and monitoring of proper governance for MALG. The Board meets four times a year and holds an AGM.

Liz Barclay (Chair)

Author, broadcaster, journalist, trainer, conference speaker/chair and small business coach

Leigh Berkley

Director of External Affairs & Development, Arrow Global

Stuart Hayward

Qualified Chartered Accountant

Lee Healey

Founder and Managing Director, IncomeMax

Robert Skinner

40 years experience in financial services, financial regulation and debt advice

Yvonne MacDermid

Chief Executive, Money Advice Scotland

James Jones

Head of External Affairs, Experian

John Fairhurst

Managing Director, Payplan

Jenny Ogden

Partner, Shoosmiths LLP

MALG Executive Council

The MALG Executive Council acts as an advisory body to the Executive Officer and the Board of Directors. It plans agendas for Group meetings, oversees operations including working groups and the regional forums, and considers membership matters. The Council reports its activities to the membership at each meeting and if appropriate seeks their endorsement.

Robert Wilson (Chair)

CEO, Institute of Money Advisers

John Deans

Chair – Customer Conduct Collections & Recoveries Senior Manager, Nationwide Building Society

Dan Alchin

Head of Retail Policy, Energy UK

Ian Fiddeman

Retail Policy Director, UK Finance

David Hawkes

National Money Advice Co-ordinator, AdviceUK

Meg van Rooyen

Policy Manager, Money Advice Trust

Andrew Smith

External Affairs Director, ClearDebt

Bee Thakur

Policy Manager, Money Advice Service

Bob Winnington

Executive Officer, MALG

MALG Committees and Working Groups

From time to time, MALG will set up temporary or permanent Committees or Working Groups to look at specific areas of work. Each Working Group will appoint a Chair, who should have a particular interest in the area of work or the expertise to take forward the specific issue involved.

Current Committees and Working Groups include:

  • Finance Committee
  • Conference Committee
  • Vulnerability Working Group
  • Membership Working Group
  • Branding and Marketing Working Group